Blogia
MY LESSONS

3rd ESO LESSONS

3rd ESO LESSONS

ADVANCED REAL ENGLISH  3º ESO

Links to review contents in 3rd ESO

http://www.isabelperez.com/grammar.htm

http://www.englisch-hilfen.de/en/exercises_list/zeitformen.htm

http://www.saberingles.com.ar/exercises/index2.html

 

And remember you can visit the Students’  Zone in the Burlington web to practise and improve your skills:  www.burlingtonbooks.com

 

PRESENT PERFECT EXERCISES

1. Complete the sentences with the correct form f the verbs. Use the past simple or the present perfect.

 

a)      My family _______________ ( move) to La Coruña last year.

b)      I ________________ (not like)  reading when I was young.

c)      ________________ they _________ (do) their homework yesterday?

d)     She _________________ (send) 50 text messages since Monday.

e)      _________ you ____________ (live) here all your life?

f)       We _________________ (not sleep) well last night.

g)      Our new head teacher__________________ (change) the school recently.

h)      I _______________ (grow) a lot in the last two years.

i)        ____________ you ____________ (have) a good time today?

j)        Bill _______________(start) smoking when he was 16.

k)      We _____________________ (work) hard this year.

 

2. Write  for or since in front of these time expressions.

 

a)      __________ six hours

b)      __________ 9:30

c)      __________ 1992

d)     __________24th July

e)      __________ nine weeks

f)       __________ two minutes

g)      __________ Tuesday

h)      __________ January

i)        __________ four months.

 

 

5. Complete with for, since, ever,  already, yet or just.

 

a) John has ....................... had lunch because the washing-up is done.

 

b) Have you ……………….. Japanese food?

 

c) Mary is in hospital; Have you visited her ………..?

 

d) We have met Leticia  ……………….. September.

 

e) (We arrived five minutes ago ) → We have …………….. arrived  home.

 

f) He hasn’t phoned us ................ Friday.

 

EJERCICIOS VOLUNTARIOS

PAST SIMPLE VS. PAST CONTINUOUS

1. Complete the gaps with the past simple or past continuous of the verbs in brackets

 a) The phone ......................(ring) while we .......................... (have) dinner.

 b) When they ...................(arrive) home, their children ............................... ( watch ) TV.

 c) What .............. you ................. (doing) yesterday night at 10 o’clock?

I ......................... (study) for my English exam.

 d) Where .............. you ................. (go) on holidays last year?

I ...................... ( go) to the beach with my family.

 e) Jane ……………………. ( wait) for me when I ………………… ( arrive)

 f) ……………………………… ( you / go) out last night? No, I was too tired.

 g) John ………………………. ( take) a photograph of me while I …………………………. ( not / look)

 h) I haven’t seen Alan for ages. When I last …………………. (see) him, he ………………………….. (try) to find a job in London.

 i) I …………………………….  (walk) along the street when suddenly I …………………………. ( hear ) footsteps behind me. Somebody ……………………. ( follow) me . I was frightened and I ………………..  ( start) to run.

 Attention!!!!!!   Footsteps = pasos /  follow = seguir

 j) When I was young, I ……………………….. ( want) to be a bus driver.

 

 2. Translate the following sentences into English.

 a)    Cuando llegué a la estación, mis padres me estaban esperando.

 b)    Conocí a mi mejor amigo mientras estaba trabajando en Madrid.

 c)    ¿Qué estabas haciendo ayer a las diez de la noche? Estaba cenando.

 d)    ¿Dónde fuiste de vacaciones el verano pasado?  Fui a la playa.

 e)    Mientras estábamos haciendo el examen, se fue la luz.

 

0 comentarios